Fundamental problem of understanding clients connection in third party applications

Please excuse me, as this is obviously a really basic question but i can’t find a satisfying answer and i am very new to Spryker

I understand that Yves frontend (which is mostly rendered on serverside via php) communicates with Zed backend functionality by using client classes which can be found in Pyz/Client.
As far as i understood the often mentioned “Glue” is represented by all the ways to access the backend, like Clients, Plugins and so on …

But you cant use all those PHP code like clients or transferobjects in javascript applications like react, angularjs and so on (please correct me if this is not true, i have no experience with this frameworks)

So, how is an alternative frontend-app connected to the ZED Backend? Is it all about writing another layer of communication to handle Rest requests? Where is the hook-in to develop for this needs?

Best regards

Hi @JimPanse,

Glue, which is in ongoing development at the moment, is a layer with API-set on top of it for exactly this purpose - to make it possible to use whatever FE solution you want: single page, mobile etc.
It covers not all features yet (for example, some b2b features), but basically you can start build what you need already.

Best regards,
Valerii

Hi @tvalerii
Thanks for your response.
Is there maybe a tutorial or another resource to start with programming external applications? I can’t find that much especially about the Keyword “Glue” in the docs. I read a bit source code but its not easy to understand for me.
Basically i expect something like an API with an external app can talk to. Finally i found two endpoints:

• api/rest/costumers
  • api/rest/products

But i don’t think that this is the “glue” entrypoint since is has nothing to to with something that is going on in the glue folder.

If there is no resource i would like to suggest a tutorial about this :slight_smile:

Thanks

Hi @JimPanse,